‘The Wound,’ ‘Last Men in Aleppo’ lead Sarasota Film Festival award winners

A parade of star presenters announced the winners of Audience and Jury Awards for the Sarasota Film Festival this year. John Tengrove’s The Wound won the Best Narrative Feature Competition and Firas Fayyad’s Last Men in Aleppo (pictured) took the Best Documentary Feature competition in the major juried categories. Other major awards included Mike Ott’s California Dreams, which took the Independent Visions Prize, and Menashe, which won the Terry Porter Visionary Award.

The same evening, legendary actress Diana Lane picked up the Sarasota Film Festival Award for Cinematic Excellence, which was presented to her by Rosanna Arquette. “She really is the greatest actress we have going on screen today,” Arquette said of Lane.

A complete list of awards follows:

Narrative Feature Competition Winner
The Wound

Director – John Trengove


Narrative Feature Competition – Special Jury Prize

One Week And A Day

Director – Asaph Polonsky


Documentary Feature Competition
Last Men in Aleppo

Director – Feras Fayyad


Independent Vision Prize Winner

California Dreams

Director – Mike Ott


Animated Shorts Competition


Director – Alisi Telengut


Narrative Short Competition

The Silence

Directors – Farnoosh Samadi, Ali Asgari


Documentary Short Competition

Little Potato

Directors – Wes Hurley, Nathan M. Miller


Audience Awards

Best Narrative Feature

Like Crazy

Director – Paolo Virzi


Audience Award

Best Documentary Feature

Abacus: Small Enough To Jail

Director – Steve James


Audience Award

Best Short Film

Bon Voyage

Director – Marc Wilkins

Audience Award

Best In World Cinema

Last Men In Aleppo

Director – Feras Fayyad




Jason Benjamin – Filmmaker, Suited

David Edelstein – Chief Film Critic, New York Magazine

Addie Morfoot – Entertainment Reporter, Variety, Crains



Aaron Hillis – Manager of Film & Creative Outreach, Indiegogo

Amy Berg – Filmmaker, Deliver Us From Evil, Prophet’s Prey

Edward Douglas – Film Critic and Writer, Film Journal International


Independent Visions

Jeremy Gerard – Film Critic and Columnist, Deadline Hollywood
Matt Grady – Producer and Founder, Factory 25

Joel Potrykus – Writer and Director, Buzzard, Ape


Shorts Competition

Andrew Hevia – Producer, Moonlight

Saschka Unseld – Filmmaker, Blue Umbrella

Josh Braun – Co-President Submarine

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s