SFF Tentpoles Announced

The Sarasota Film Festival this morning announced its tentpole films and some of the talent expected at this year’s event.

Blackfish will open the festival. Frances Ha will close. And as officials teased a few weeks ago, there will be two centerpiece films: The Spectacular Now and Running From Crazy.

As for talent, the SFF Tribute Luncheon will honor Griffin Dunne, Mariel Hemingway, Barbara Kopple, Lili Taylor and Suzanne Clemente. Other talent expected to attend include Christopher Abbott, Peter Bogdanovich, Gabriela Cowpertwaite, Cheryl Hines and James Ponsoldt.

Griffin Dunne
Mariel Hemingway
Christopher Abbott



Most of those stars are in fact associated with the new Spotlight series this year, which will showcase the films Burma (starring Abbott and Gabby Hoffman), The Discovers (starring Dunne) and Pasadena (starring Hines and Bogdanovich), which actually makes its world premiere here.

Hemingway is this year’s Impact Award recipient, for her work on suicide prevention, and will be a guest of the UN Women’s Gulf Coast Chapter. Taylor will get a career achievement award, and will also be promoting the film The Cold Lands. Kopple gets the Director’s Award, while Dunne will be honored with the Achievement in Acting Award. Clemente will receive a World Cinema Award, and will promote Laurence Anyways.

Hemingway, Taylor, Dunne and Bogdanovich will all do In Conversation events.

One thought on “SFF Tentpoles Announced”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s